By Jack H. Smith
Ledger Publisher 

11 leave Class B, Whitehall joins South Division


A reclassification by the Montana High School Association has eliminated 11 Class B football teams.

There will now be a total of 29 teams that have been split into four divisions.

The Whitehall/Harrison High School football team will play in the eight team South Division. The other teams in the division include Jefferson, Townsend, Manhattan, Big Timber, Three Forks, Columbus and Red Lodge.

Trojans Head Coach Dan Lacey said Whitehall will play all seven teams in the division during the regular season, and it should be a real battle with the top four qualifying for the 16-team state playoffs.

The East division features Baker, Colstrip, Huntley Project, Poplar, Roundup, Shepherd and Wolf Point. The West division includes Anaconda, Big Fork, Florence, Eureka, Missoula Loyola, Deer Lodge and Thompson Falls. The North Division features Conrad, Cut Bank, Fairfield, Glasgow, Harlem, Malta and Shelby.

Two teams Whitehall played during the 2016 season will be moving to class A. Libby and Roan have both be reclassified to the A Division.

The new classification numbers for Class B is between 108 and 306 students. The prior numbers were 120 to 339.


Wyatt Alexander and the Whitehall Trojans will compete next season in the eight team Class B South Division.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 02/15/2020 06:00