The Whitehall Ledger - Serving Southern Jefferson County in the Great State of Montana

By Jack H. Smith
Ledger Publisher 

Town General Election Cancelled


September 27, 2017

The Town of Whitehall has cancelled the November 7 General Election for municipal officer positions.

Because there is no election, five will be elected to municipal positions by acclimation. Mary Janacaro Hensleigh will be the new Mayor, Katy James is elected as a Council Member in Ward 1, Barbara Gagnon is elected in Ward 2, and Jason Good and Montina Rawson are elected in Ward 3.

According to a Resolution 2017-3, passed Wednesday night by the Whitehall Town Council, Montana HB 447 authorizes a municipality to cancel a general election for the election of a municipal officer by resolution after notification by the election administrator if the number of candidates filing for election is equal or less the number of persons to be filled.

The resolution also states that pursuant to Section 13-1-403, a declaration of intent to be a write in candidate must have been filed by September 5, 65 days before the election.

The Town of Whitehall notified Election Administrator Bonnie Ramey September 14 with their intent to cancel the election.

The General Election for the question of Creation of the Jefferson Valley Rural Ambulance District and election of Directors for the Jefferson Valley Rural Ambulance will still take place November 7. Voter registration for the election will close October 10 at 5 p.m.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 06/15/2021 18:28