The Whitehall Ledger is a member of the MNA
Elsewhere in Montana
Out of State
Last Update: Feb. 25, 2015       Serving Southern Jefferson County in the Great State of Montan
Welcome to the Whitehall Ledger's website!

The Whitehall Ledger is the only newspaper devoted to the community of Whitehall. This site was created to not only provide information about the Ledger but about Whitehall as well. We hope you enjoy your trip through the site and hope you’ll let us know what you think. Was the site helpful? Can it be improved? What other kinds of information would you like to learn or access through this site? Please contact us at 406-287-5301, and thanks for your interest in the Ledger and the community of Whitehall.
Jefferson & Madison Counties
  The Whitehall Ledger, established in 1984, is a weekly newspaper owned by Greg Corr.
   The circulation is 1,150, and a typical Ledger is 24 tab-sized pages, although with special editions and special sections the paper can be as large as 40 pages. The newspaper offers extensive coverage of local activities, organizations and local government, and the paper has the following sections on a weekly basis: opinion/editorial, community/historical section, sports, agriculture, classified advertising and a real estate page. We are a five column (12 picas per column, 16 inches deep) tab. Our general circulation area is Whitehall, Pipestone, Cardwell, Silver Star, Waterloo, and Boulder. We publish the paper every Wednesday, and our deadline for news and advertising is 5 p.m. each Monday. Our business hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Monday, and 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, however, sometimes we are out of the office gathering photos and news.

    ADVERTISING: Our standard advertising rate is $5 per column inch. Our classified ad rate is $5 for the first 15 words, with each word 10 cents after that. Our rate for pre-print advertising is $66 (for 1,000). We insert approximately 1,000 (we do not insert to subscribers out of the county or out of state). The Ledger does commercial printing and can create, design and print letterhead, brochures, flyers, posters, business cards and other products. We have a high quality digital camera and can take color photos for advertising or other purposes. The Ledger can be reached through this website, via e-mail at , by snail mail at PO Box 1169, Whitehall, MT 59759, or give us a jingle at (406) 287-5301. Let us know how we can help you!
Download the
Feb 25 d
-Ledger by clicking on the page below!
Help the Jefferson Valley Community Foundation by buying Glenn Marx's new book, TALK ABOUT A DREAM! ONLY 26.99
Includes shipping & handling
10379 visits as of
Dec. 18, 2014
'Winter Blast' Gun Show a success
Britney Casillas, age 14, gives Whitehall veteran Rich Shepard advice as to which ammo clip he should buy at the Winter Blast Gun Show at the Community Center last weekend. Casillas’ family, from Livingston, was selling ammo clips as well as bamboo pillows. CHERYL CHEMAN PHOTO
Trojan boys advance to Southern B divisional tournament
Ledger Publisher

    BELGRADE — Whitehall’s boys’ varsity basketball team will advance to the March 5-7 Southern B divisional tournament at MetraPark in Billings after defeating Townsend 50-34 late Saturday afternoon in the District 5B tournament consolation championship game at the Belgrade Special Events Center.
    It’s the sixth straight year that the Trojan boys have advanced to divisional action.
    The Trojans will face District 4B champion Huntley Project at divisionals on March 5, starting at 1:30 p.m. Huntley took a decisive 50-39 win over Columbus in the 4B title game Saturday.
    Whitehall had split with Townsend during the regular season, and Townsend was seeded No. 3 going into the district tourney while Whitehall was seeded No. 4.
But the Trojans overpowered the Bulldogs of Broadwater on Saturday, jumping out to a 15-5 lead in the first quarter and leading 24-14 at the half. The two teams played evening in the third period, and then the Trojans pounded a nail in Broadwater’s coffin in the final quarter with a 14-7 effort.
    Whitehall sophomore Andrew Simon had a hot hand, canning four three-pointers in the game and finishing with 19 points. He also grabbed 11 rebounds. Fellow sophomore Braden Larsen followed with 12 points, and senior Nathanial Reed scored 11. Other scorers for the Trojans were sophomore Jacob Flynn with six and senior Colton Coffing with two.
     Skylar Geisser led the Bulldogs with 18.
    In a consolation semi-final game, No. 6 seed Three Forks almost ended Whitehall’s road to the consolation title. Finals score Saturday morning was 51-49.
    Whitehall led 20-14 at the end of the first period, but the Wolves stayed with Whitehall for the next two quarters and outscored the Trojans 19-14 in the fourth period to almost take the upset win. Thanks to Larsen’s go-ahead shot with only about 20 seconds to go and another free throw late in the game, the Trojans were able to take the win.
    Simon led his team with 16 points, followed by Larsen with 14, Reed with eight, Coffing with seven and Flynn with six.
    Luke Colberg led the Wolves with 21.
     Whitehall played No. 5 seed Manhattan in the district tourney’s opening game on Thursday, staring at 3 p.m., and the Trojan claimed a 50-37 victory. The Trojans led 17-8 after the first quarter and 39-18 at halftime. Manhattan outscored the Trojans 19-11 in the second half, but a strong first half had sealed the win for Whitehall.
    Simon led the way again for the Trojans with 14 points, followed by Reed with 12, Larsen with nine, junior Riley Harper with six, Coffing with four, senior Patrick McCarthy with three and Flynn with two.
Whitehall phone book distribution delayed
    Due to a delay in printing the 2015 Whitehall phone book covers in Great Falls this month, the books will not be ready for distribution until some time this week.
    The Whitehall Ledger sent the print job to the printer in late January, and it usually takes a couple of weeks to print the book.
    The Ledger apologizes for the delay.
    Once they are ready for distribution, the books will be inserted in all in-county Ledgers, and the remaining books will be distributed in Whitehall throughout 2015.